Honoraries to join in with Cambridge celebrations

Published: 8 October 2014 at 13:57

Six inspirational Honorary Award holders chosen to join students at graduations

New honoraries will join the celebrations as thousands of Anglia Ruskin University students attend graduation ceremonies in Cambridge.

Successful undergraduate and postgraduate students will don their gowns for the nine faculty-themed ceremonies to be held at the city’s Corn Exchange between 14-16 October, marking the formal completion of their degrees.

The six honorary awards will be presented during the ceremonies to various individuals chosen for their outstanding achievements and their inspirational qualities which set them apart as role models to Anglia Ruskin students.

Professor Alan Barrell, who has used a combination of academic and commercial acumen to support and advise fledgling businesses, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration. Alan has a long and successful association with Anglia Ruskin University and as Chief Executive of MedTech International, his experience and expertise will be a valuable asset to our MedTech Campus. 

Peter Taylor, a physicist, entrepreneur and the Managing Director of TTP Group – Europe’s leading independent technology and product development company – will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration. Peter is Chair and sponsor of CEDAR, the Centre for Enterprise, Development and Research at our Lord Ashcroft International Business School.

Selwyn Image CBE, a humanitarian and founder of the UK’s Emmaus community which provides shelter, meaningful work and a sense of community to homeless people, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Arts.

Fran Williamson is an Athlete Mentor at Youth Sport Trust, a multiple Paralympic medal winner, former swimming world record-holder, and celebrated Anglia Ruskin alumna. She will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Health Science.

Professor Sir Peng Khaw is Director of the National Institute of Health Research Biomedical Research Centre at Moorfields Eye Hospital and the UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, and Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon and Professor of Glaucoma and Ocular Healing. He will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science.

Professor Sir David Fish, a renowned academic, clinician and Managing Director of University College London Partners, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science. Sir David has been unstinting in his support of the Anglia Ruskin Health Partnership, formed in 2011, which brings together the Essex acute hospitals and Essex County Council chief executives to assist in the planning of future healthcare in the County.

Professor Michael Thorne, Vice Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin University, said:

“We’re looking forward to welcoming back our successful students immensely. Graduations are always a tremendous occasion and we take great pride in seeing our graduates recognised for their achievement and hard work.
“Our honorary degree holders are chosen carefully and are also a source of great pride. These are people at the very top of their respective fields who will be excellent role models for our existing students.”

For the first time, the ceremonies will be streamed live from the Corn Exchange and will be available to view on the internet at www.anglia.ac.uk and on information screens around the East Road campus.