Optometry experts have eyes on the prize!

Published: 28 October 2014 at 12:07

Lecturer of the Year award goes to Anglia Ruskin academic for second year running

The Association of Optometrists’ Lecturer of the Year prize has been won for the second year running by an academic from Anglia Ruskin University.

Rupal Lovell-Patel scooped the prestigious award, which recognises a lecturer who is committed to offering “dynamic and informative teaching that inspires clinical excellence amongst their students”, at a ceremony in Birmingham.

Lovell-Patel, Course Leader for Optometry and Ophthalmic Dispensing at Anglia Ruskin, said:

“It is a great privilege and honour to win this award.  This is definitely the highest accolade I can receive in my teaching career.”  

Drawing on her 16 years of experience in optometry to help students prepare for the world of practice, Lovell-Patel said that students should “get a feel for the hands-on, applied clinical skills they will be using every day as an optometrist”.

The 2013 Lecturer of the Year award was won by Liam Kite, Admissions Tutor and Lecturer for Ophthalmic Dispensing at Anglia Ruskin’s Department of Vision and Hearing Sciences

Dr Ebi Osuobeni, Acting Head of Department of Vision and Hearing Sciences, said:

“This award is well deserved and a strong endorsement of Rupal’s passion for lecturing and engaging with our students.  

“This is the second year running that a lecturer from our department here in Cambridge has won this prestigious award.  It is another indication of the commitment of our lecturers to learning and teaching, and a strong reason why so many students choose our department as their destination of study.”

Henrietta Alderman, Chief Executive of the Association of Optometrists (AOP), said:

“The AOP Awards gives us the opportunity to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of the individuals and organisations who give so much to the public and the profession.”

For more information about the AOP Awards, including details of all the winners, visit the Optometry Today website.