Outdoor activities

person canoeing on a calm river

Have you ever thought you might like to try something different? 

Our Outdoor Activities programme runs throughout the year and there’s something different happening most weeks. The activities are designed so that anyone can have a go. Activities cost £10 per student and £15 per staff member. This includes all necessary equipment, and transport from campus to the venue and back.

Before booking onto an activity please read the Outdoor Activities Essential Information, as this gives details of any specific requirements, and advice on what you should wear or bring for each activity.

Chelmsford Outdoor Activities timetable
Date  Activity  Depart  Return 
Saturday 3 February Archery
Mildmay Sports Centre
9:45 12:00
Thursday 8 February Skiing
Brentwood Ski Centre
17:30 22:30
Sunday 18 February Mountain Biking
Hadleigh Park
9.30  13.30
Saturday 24 February Climbing
The Lock, Harlow
12:00 16:00 
Saturday 3 March Archery
Mildmay Sports Centre
9:45 12:00
Wednesday 7 March Skiing
Brentwood Ski Centre
17:30 22:00
Sunday 18 March Mountain Biking
Hadleigh Park 
9:30 13:30
Wednesday 21 March Horse Riding
Chelmsford Equestrian Centre 
13.30  16.30 
Sunday 15 April Canoeing
River Chelmer, Little Baddow
13:00 16:00
Wednesday 18 April Climbing
The Lock, Harlow
14:00 18:00
Wednesday 25 April Horse Riding
Chelmsford Equestrian
13:30 16:30
Tuesday 1 May  Canoeing
River Chelmer, Little Baddow
17:15 20:30


Cambridge Outdoor Activities timetable
Date  Activity  Depart  Return 
Sunday 4 February Archery 14:30  17:00
Wednesday 7 February  Skiing
Brentwood Ski Centre 
17:30  22:00
Saturday 17 February Mountain Biking
Thetford Forest
9:30  13:30
Thursday 22 February Climbing
Big Rock
17:15 21:30
Sunday 4 March  Archery 14:30 17:00
Tuesday 6 March Skiing
Brentwood Ski Centre
17:30  22:30 
Saturday 17 March  Mountain Biking
Thetford Forest
9:30  13:30
Wednesday 21 March Horse Riding
Old Tigers Stables
13:00  17.00

Saturday 14 April  Canoeing
River Little Ouse, Brandon 
09:30  13:30
Tuesday 17 April Climbing 
BIg Rock, Milton Keynes
17:15  21:30
Wednesday 25 April  Horse Riding
Old Tigers Stables 
13:00  17:00
Thursday 3 May  Canoeing
River Little Ouse, Brandon 
17:15  20:30


Get involved

All the activities are run by fully qualified professional instructors, who make sure everyone has a fun and exhilarating experience.

You don’t need any previous experience and the sessions cater for a wide range of fitness and abilities. 

Book a session

You can take part in as many of the activities as you want. There’s no membership, but it is essential to book a place. You can book at either Mildmay Sports Centre or Helmore Gym.

If you already have some involvement in an outdoor activity, you'll still get a lot from our sessions as the instructors are good at finding a suitable challenge. We’re keen to support ongoing training and development, so please get in touch to discuss your interests. We have good links with clubs, facilities and instructors.

If you have any instructor qualifications, or an interest in setting up a club, we’d also like to hear from you.

Further information

To keep up to date with what’s going on you can now join the Outdoor Activities Facebook groups. You’ll be able to share your experiences, photos and videos, see what others are doing and make new friends.


If you have any questions please contact us:

Email us: active@anglia.ac.uk
Call us: Chelmsford: 01245 684321 / Cambridge: 01233 698199
Find us on Facebook and Twitter