HUCBMS 2017 Programme

Themes: ‘Learning and Teaching Developments; Research, Innovation and Impact; and Internationalisation’

Wednesday 6 September

Day 1 PM

12.00–13.30 - Registration

13.30 - Welcome (Professor Roderick Watkins, Deputy Vice Chancellor [Research and Innovation], Anglia Ruskin University; Professor Kevan Gartland, President of HUCBMS)

Session 1


Professor Julie McLeod and Dr Sue Jones

13.40 - The future of UK universities (Nick Hillman, CEO, Higher Education Policy Institute, Oxford) 
14.20 - Promotion of UK HE collaboration (Tricia King, International Vice President, Council for Advancement & Support of Education) 

15.00 - Tea/coffee break

Session 2


Drs Ian Locke and Linda Walsh

15.30 - The role of Innovate UK in supporting life sciences as part of the UKRI research policy and funding ecosystem (Dr Chris Jones, Head of Emerging Technologies, Innovate UK) 

16.10 - Collaborative Training of Research Students - Doctoral Training Alliance (Professor Yvonne Barnett, Senior Pro Vice Chancellor, Nottingham Trent University) 

16.50 – AGM

17.30 - A gentle walking tour of Cambridge city
18.00 - Pimm's and punting on the River Cam

(First group – 18.00 punt. Second group – 18.30 punt)

19.00 - BBQ and drinks at The Granta

Thursday 7 September

Day 2 AM

Session 3

Chairs: Professors Gerry McKenna and Yvonne Barnett

09.30 - Stern Review and future REF (David Sweeney, Director, Research & Knowledge Exchange, HEFCE; Executive Chair-designate, Research England) 

10.10 - BREXIT (Legal and Political issues) (Charles Brasted, Head of Public Law and Policy at Hogan Lovells) 

10.50 - Tea/coffee break

Session 4


Professor Valerie Randal and Merfyn Williams

11.20 - BREXIT (Research and Innovation issues) (Paul Simmonds, Director, Technopolis Group)
12.00 - TEF: Current policy and future plans (Sam Meakin, Assistant Director, Subject-level TEF, Department for Education)  

12.40 – Lunch   

Day 2 PM

Session 5


Drs Claire Pike and Craig Donaldson

14.00 - Investments in Learning and Teaching Environments at Anglia Ruskin (Dr Ruth Jackson, Pro Vice Chancellor and Dean of the Faculty of Medical Science, Anglia Ruskin University; and Dr Christopher Parris, Head of the Department of Biomedical and Forensic Sciences, Anglia Ruskin University) 
14.40 - Centralised SuperLab Facilities at University of Liverpool (Dr Lis Rushworth, Central Teaching Laboratory, University of Liverpool) 

15.20 - Tea/coffee break

Session 6


Professors Jacqueline McCormack and Kevan Gartland

15.50 - Developments and Priorities for the Irish Medical Scientists Registration Board (Aoife Sweeney, Head of Education, Health & Social Care Professions Council, CORU) 
16.30 - 25 Years of HUCBMS (Professor Gerry McKenna MRIA, President Emeritus and Hon Executive Secretary, HUCBMS; Vice President, Royal Irish Academy)
17.10 – HUCBMS 2018 at University of Essex (Dr Selwa Alsam, Local Organiser)
17.20 – Concluding Remarks (Professor Kevan Gartland, President of HUCBMS)

18.30 - Conference dinner at Queens' College, preceded by drinks and canapes in the College Gardens and followed by a Céilí in the Old Kitchens.