Students and honoraries to receive awards

Published: 5 October 2015 at 15:00

VC Michael Thorne

Chelmsford graduates to be joined by seven inspirational Honorary Award recipients

About 4,000 students will celebrate their achievements alongside seven inspirational honorary degree holders during graduation ceremonies at Anglia Ruskin University.

Anglia Ruskin’s Chelmsford campus will be a sea of colour between 6 and 9 October as successful undergraduate and postgraduate students mark the formal completion of their degrees.

Alongside these students, seven individuals have been selected to receive honorary degrees for their inspirational work in their respective fields and professions.

Princess Elettra Marconi Giovanelli is the daughter of Marchese Guglielmo Marconi, the “Father of Radio”. She is co-author and editor of Marconi, My Beloved, an account of the life and work of her father, one of the greatest scientists of the 20th Century. Her latest project involves the development of her family home in Bologna. In 2014, she embarked on a tour of the United States to raise funds to convert this 9,500 square metre, 16th Century palace into an academic centre of excellence, a centre for young people studying science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 2010, she opened the Marconi building on Anglia Ruskin’s Chelmsford campus. She will receive a Doctor of Technology award.

Caroline Haynes is Principal of Tendring Technology College (TTC) in Frinton-on-Sea. In 2001, when she first arrived at TTC just 48% of pupils were receiving grades A to C at GCSE level and discipline was poor, with classes plagued by unruly behaviour. Convinced that disruptive pupils were jeopardising the chances of others, Caroline’s response was to adopt a zero tolerance approach, with significant sanctions for pupils who failed to behave in an appropriate manner. In the academic year 2007 to 2008, the GCSE pass rate rocketed from 48% to 78%. She will receive a Doctor of Education award.

Professor Jenny Hunt is an innovator, facilitator and leader in the field of nursing. A former Director of the Nursing Research Initiative for Scotland, she is Visiting Professor of Nursing within Anglia Ruskin’s Faculty of Health, Social Care and Education. She will receive a Doctor of Health Sciences award.

Dr C Palanivelu is an internationally renowned surgeon, researcher, philanthropist, and Chairman of the Gastro Enterology Medical Hospital and Research Centre in the city of Coimbatore, Southern India. He will receive a Doctor of Health Sciences award.

Sir Tom Hughes-Hallett is Chair of the End of Life Care Implementation Advisory Board, non-executive Chair of Cause 4, and Chair of the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College London. Sir Thomas’ philanthropic work has been widely recognised. In 2012 he was knighted in the Queen’s Birthday Honour’s List for his services to palliative care and in 2013 he was presented with the prestigious Beacon Fellowship for Philanthropy Advocacy. He will receive a Doctor of Arts award.

John Niland is Chief Executive Officer of Provide, a community interest company responsible for delivering a broad range of health and social care services to the people of Essex, Cambridge, Peterborough and North East London. In 2014, John’s achievements were recognised by the judges of the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year awards, when they named him Social Enterprise Entrepreneur of the Year. He will receive a Doctor of Health Sciences award.

Dr William Webb is an academic, technology pioneer, CEO of Weightless Special Interest Group, and President of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. To date he has published 13 books, more than 100 papers, and is the joint author of 19 patents. He will receive a Doctor of Technology award.

Professor Michael Thorne, Vice Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin University, said:

“Graduation week is always a special place to be on our Chelmsford campus as successful students don their gowns and celebrate their fantastic achievements. We wish all our graduates well in the future and are confident that they will go on to great things.
“Our honorary award recipients have all achieved excellence in their respective fields and are chosen for their inspirational qualities. Listening to their speeches during the ceremonies will give all our graduates a lift and show them what can be achieved.”