Honoraries help students celebrate in Cambridge

Published: 5 October 2015 at 15:00

Cambridge campus

Cambridge graduates to be joined by eight inspirational Honorary Award recipients

About 2,500 students will celebrate their achievements alongside eight inspirational honorary degree holders during graduation ceremonies at Anglia Ruskin University.

The city’s Corn Exchange will be a sea of colour between 12 and 15 October as successful undergraduate and postgraduate students mark the formal completion of their degrees.

Alongside these students, eight individuals have been selected to receive honorary degrees for their inspirational work in their respective fields and professions.

Sir Tim Smit is an entrepreneur, author, educator, motivational speaker, social campaigner and co-founder of the Eden Project. When it opened in 2001, The Times called The Eden Project the eighth wonder of the world. It supports conservation projects across the globe and promotes healthier, more sustainable lifestyles. The Eden Project is also a partner on Anglia Ruskin’s Sustainability MSc programme. Sir Tim will receive a Doctor of Science award.

Anders Holch Povlsen is Chief Executive Officer of Bestseller clothing group. He is a pioneering conservationist and esteemed Anglia Ruskin alumnus. Today the Bestseller group of companies markets clothing and accessories in 70 countries across the globe. It boasts over 3,000 branded stores across 38 markets. Over a decade ago, Anders founded the organisation WildLand with the aim of purchasing land in order to protect it against exploitation from logging, mining, urbanisation and farming. He will receive a Doctor of Business Administration award.

Les Reed is Head of Football Development and Executive Director of Football for Southampton Football Club. Les and his technical team at Southampton have developed and implemented a coaching methodology that is widely recognised as the template for coaching best-practice. The club’s standards in coaching, medicine and analytics are world-leading and their results have been remarkable. Les has also played a leading role in the development of The Coaching Manual, an online resource for football coaches at all levels. Anglia Ruskin University has built a relationship with The Coaching Manual through its online BSc Coaching for Performance in Football. He will receive a Doctor of Health Sciences award.

Andy Harter is an engineer, innovator, entrepreneur, and Chief Executive Officer of RealVNC. Andy’s VNC technology, which allows a computer screen to be accessed and controlled remotely via another device, is present on around one billion devices across the globe. In 2010, Andy was the recipient of the Royal Academy of Engineering’s Silver Medal for his outstanding personal contribution to British Engineering. Andy has lived in Cambridge for 35 years. He will receive a Doctor of Science award.

Halima Khan is a Board Trustee of Diabetes UK, previously a Council Member of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, and Executive Director of the Health Lab at Nesta – the UK’s leading innovation charity. A Cambridge resident, Halima has spent her career striving to improve the lives of people with a wide range of health and social problems. She will receive a Doctor of Health Sciences award.

Dr Peter Zinovieff is a composer, librettist and pioneer of electronic music. During the 1960s he rapidly developed a world class studio in London and installed the first computer in a private house in the world which he used to control the sound generating equipment. He was also the first to use sampling as a musical technique. Dr Tom Hall, Course Leader of Anglia Ruskin’s Creative Music Technology degree, has published research on Peter’s collaborations, and in 2013 he organised a symposium and concert celebrating Peter’s work and 80th birthday. Peter will receive a Doctor of Music award.

Professor Karalyn Patterson is a Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge; a Visiting Scientist at the MRC Cognition & Brain Sciences Unit in Cambridge; and a Fellow and Wine Steward of Darwin College, Cambridge. Karalyn is one of a very select group of academics who have been elected fellows of three of the UK’s most prestigious national academies; The Royal Society, the British Academy, and the Academy of Medical Sciences. She has presented to Anglia Ruskin’s Psychology students and alumni and has co-authored papers with researchers in the Faculty of Science and Technology. She will receive a Doctor of Science award.

Andy Hepworth is a Professional Relations Manager with Essilor – the world’s largest manufacturer of ophthalmic lenses. In 2014, Andy was awarded an ABDO (Association of British Dispensing Opticians) medal for exceptional services to the optical community. He is the youngest person to be awarded this honour. He is also a member of the editorial advisory team for Optometry Today and a respected Anglia Ruskin alumnus. He has also provided close support to Anglia Ruskin’s Ophthalmic Dispensing Foundation Degree and is a staunch supporter of the University Eye Clinic. He will become an Honorary Fellow of Anglia Ruskin University.

Professor Michael Thorne, Vice Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin University, said:

"Graduation week is always a special place to be in Cambridge as successful students don their gowns and celebrate their fantastic achievements. We wish all our graduates well in the future and are confident that they will go on to great things.
"Our honorary award recipients have all achieved excellence in their respective fields and are chosen for their inspirational qualities. Listening to their speeches during the ceremonies will give all our graduates a lift and show them what can be achieved."