Finnish academic to fly in for Fellowship

Published: 6 December 2013 at 13:37

Anglia Ruskin to host research project backed by British Academy and Royal Society

A Finnish academic has been awarded a prestigious Fellowship to help him to carry out a new research project at Anglia Ruskin University.

Newton International Fellowships are awarded jointly by two of the UK’s national research academies – the British Academy and the Royal Society.  The Fellowships are part of a £29million Government initiative to ensure that the UK engages with the world’s most promising academics.

Jukka-Pekka Heikkila will begin his research, focusing on hidden entrepreneurship in East Asia, in January.  He said:

“My work aims to provide an understanding into how entrepreneurial visions and cultural images reflect into entrepreneurial action.  All societies have entrepreneurial activity; it is just not always directed towards Western-based capitalism.
“The research is an important opportunity to study latent attitudes to business and entrepreneurship, which will give us potential indicators of the shape of East Asian economies in the future.”

Professor Simon Down, Director of the Institute for International Management Practice at Anglia Ruskin, said:

“This Fellowship and Jukka-Pekka’s research demonstrates the Lord Ashcroft International Business School’s ongoing commitment to producing internationally recognised research of the highest quality – research that is as far reaching in its appeal as it is in its relevance.”

Newton International Fellows receive support in the region of £100,000 each for a two-year placement in the UK.  The collaborations and links formed by Newton Fellows will continue to be supported by follow-on funding of up to £6,000 per year, for up to 10 years, to help develop lasting international networks.

Other Fellowships have been awarded to academics at the universities of Bristol, Cambridge, Durham, Edinburgh, Essex, Exeter, Imperial College, the Institute of Education, King’s College London, the LSE, Manchester, Oxford, Queen Mary, the School of Oriental and African Studies, Sheffield, St Andrews, Surrey, Sussex and University College London.