Fantasy honour for Anglia Ruskin expert

Published: 19 September 2014 at 14:21

Professor Mendlesohn recognised at the British Fantasy Society’s annual awards

Farah Mendlesohn, Professor of Literary History at Anglia Ruskin University, has been presented with a lifetime achievement award by the British Fantasy Society.

Professor Mendlesohn, who is also head of the department of English, Communication, Film and Media at Anglia Ruskin, received the Karl Edward Wagner Award at the British Fantasy Society’s annual convention in York. 

The Karl Edward Wagner Award is decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.  Last year it was presented posthumously to bestselling Scottish author Iain Banks, while previous winners of the special award include Terry Pratchett, Stephen King and Peter Jackson, director of the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Professor Mendlesohn is co-editor of both The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature and The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction, which won the Hugo Prize – the most prestigious award in the science fiction world – in 2005.

In addition to her writing, Professor Mendlesohn is an active member of the science fiction and fantasy community, and this summer was Project Manager of the Exhibits Hall at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held at London ExCeL.

Professor Mendlesohn said:

“I’m really delighted to have my work recognised by writers, editors and fans.  Much of my career has been devoted to bringing academic, fan and professional communities closer together so to be honoured in this way is very special.”

Other winners at the 2014 British Fantasy Awards included Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere for best film/television episode, Lauren Beukes (The Shining Girls) for best horror novel and Sofia Samatar (A Stranger in Olondria) for best fantasy novel.