Anglia Ruskin welcomes three new Board members

Published: 17 October 2011 at 14:47

Sarah Wright, Dr Asaf Pirali and Jerome Booth take up key roles at university

Anglia Ruskin University has welcomed three new members – Sarah Wright, Dr Asaf Pirali and Jerome Booth – to its Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors determines the educational character of Anglia Ruskin as well as setting the university’s strategic direction. Other responsibilities include financial issues, property and the staffing of Anglia Ruskin.

Sarah Wright is the Principal of SEEVIC College, which offers courses in partnership with Anglia Ruskin. Sarah taught in Further Education for more than a decade before taking a variety of leadership roles, including Vice Principal of Warwickshire College. Sarah also worked as an additional inspector for OFSTED for eight years.

Dr Asaf Pirali is the Founder and President of the School of Accounting and Management in Trinidad.  In collaboration with Lord Ashcroft International Business School, there are around 1,900 students studying for Anglia Ruskin awards at the School. Aside from his contribution to education, Asaf is a church leader and appears regularly on television and radio programmes discussing religious topics.

Jerome Booth is a co-founder, Head of Research and a member of the Investment Committee at Ashmore Investment Management. He holds four degrees, including a doctorate in economics from Oxford and an honorary doctorate from Anglia Ruskin. Jerome is also a director of the Lloyds insurance broker CBC, a trustee of the Fitzwilliam Museum Development Trust and a Director of the Britten Sinfonia.