Anglia Ruskin University adds new expertise to Board

Published: 12 December 2006 at 10:56

Anglia Ruskin University has appointed four new members to its Board of Governors.

John Brewster, Roger Swain and Ian McManus have all been accepted as members of the Board to help with the custody and control of the assets and affairs of the University.  Adrian Chaffey has also been accepted as a co-opted member of the Audit and Compliance Committee. The main responsibilities of the Board of Governors includes the approval and recommendation of the University’s annual budgets and long term financial projections; and the approval of internal financial control and accounting systems.

John Brewster, a professionally qualified electronics engineer and business director, was recruited by e2v technologies in 1999 to strengthen its position in the imaging market sector. His roles within the company included global sales, marketing communications and more recently corporate social responsibility; and from this interest he developed a passionate belief in the need to develop closer ties with the academic community in the region. 

As a director of e2v technologies, he was part of the team that successfully purchased the business from Marconi and then floated the company on the London Stock Exchange in July 2004.

Also joining the Board are Roger Swain, who retired after working for 38 years in public sector finance; and Ian McManus who has operated at main board level in major multinational companies, as well as working in a number of blue chip agrochemical and pharmaceutical companies.  Joining the Audit and Compliance Committee, Adrian Chaffey is a Cambridge-based commercial lawyer with a background working for clients in the health and education sectors, and for university ‘spin-out’ businesses

Chairman of the Board of Governors, Colin Day said:

“It is excellent news that we have recruited these senior people with a full range skills and experience to help us to build a clear future for the University which continues to grow in strength academically and in terms of its popularity within the East of England. A major part of this ongoing success can be directly attributed to the outstanding efforts of our Board members.”

Other members of the Board of Governors for Anglia Ruskin University include: Marcia Baldry, Kate Barker, Iain Brodie, Greg Gant, Trisha Gupta, Andy Hayman, Shirley Jamieson, Peter Matthews, Christopher Menzies, Jafar Mirza, Chris Nicholls, David Tidmarsh, Alex Tweedie and Frankie Whiffen.