Anglia Ruskin prepares for graduation

Published: 26 September 2012 at 14:17

Seven Honorary Award holders help students celebrate their achievements in Chelmsford

Over 2,900 Anglia Ruskin University students will be joined by Honorary Award holders from the fields of humanitarian aid, education, health, industry and law as they celebrate their graduation in Chelmsford next month.

The ceremonies, which will be held at the Graduation Pavilion on Anglia Ruskin’s Chelmsford campus on 1-4 October, will see undergraduate and postgraduate students don ceremonial graduation gowns to mark the formal completion of their degrees. 

The seven Honorary Awards will be presented during the faculty-themed ceremonies to various individuals in recognition of their outstanding achievements.  Three of these Honorary Award holders are Anglia Ruskin’s own alumni who have gone on to achieve great success in their fields.

Honorary degrees will be received by former disaster relief worker Dame Claire Bertschinger DBE, Bupa’s Group Medical Director Dr Paul Zollinger-Read CBE, Head of King John School in Benfleet Margaret Wilson, CEO of technology company e2V Keith Attwood, international sports lawyer Ian Blackshaw, former Renault and Ford car designer Patrick le Quément, and Chairman of construction and logistics company Wilson James Ltd Gary Sullivan OBE.

Dame Claire Bertschinger DBE, the person who inspired Sir Bob Geldof to set up Band Aid, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Health Sciences for her selfless work as a nurse in impoverished and war-torn regions around the world.

Dr Paul Zollinger-Read CBE, now Bupa’s Group Medical Director, was Chief Executive of NHS Cambridgeshire and his contribution to the development of medical education in the East of England spans over 25 years. Dr Paul Zollinger-Read will receive an Honorary Doctor of Health Sciences.

Margaret Wilson, head teacher of The King John School, a Mathematics and Computing Specialist College in Benfleet, and a spokesperson on educational issues, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Education.

Keith Attwood will receive an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration for his work as CEO of e2V, a Chelmsford-based global technology company.  Under Keith’s leadership, new acquisitions and organic growth have seen the company double its sales and diversify into new product areas.

Professor Ian Blackshaw will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws for his achievements as an author, esteemed lawyer specialising in sports law, board member of the Anglia Ruskin International Law Unit and notable alumnus.

Patrick le Quément will receive an Honorary Doctor of Technology for this work as an internationally renowned vehicle designer at Ford and Renault.  During 22 years at Renault, the Anglia Ruskin alumnus managed the development of cars such as the Laguna, Scenic and Mégane. 

Gary Sullivan OBE will receive the Honorary award of Doctor Business Administration for his charitable work within Essex and his role as Chairman of Wilson James Ltd.

Professor Michael Thorne, Vice Chancellor of Anglia Ruskin, said:

“We hope that this year’s Honorary Award holders, and their inspiring stories, will be of enormous interest to our graduating students.
“The ceremonies serve as a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the talent and hard work of our graduating students, and we wish them every success in their chosen careers.”