Anglia Ruskin Orchestra and Chorus

Anglia Orchestra and Chorus image

This event has now passed. For information on upcoming events, click here.

Wednesday 9 December, 7.30pm
West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge

Conductors – Paul Jackson and Nicholas Brown

Maurice Ravel – La Vallée des Cloches (arr. Percy Grainger)
Maurice Ravel – Ma mère l’Oye
Maurice Duruflé – Requiem, op. 9

Anglia Ruskin Orchestra and Chorus present a programme of French music for their autumn concert, including Ravel’s sumptuous orchestration of his piano work, Ma mère l’Oye (Mother Goose). Percy Grainger’s arrangement of La Vallée des Cloches for strings and massed percussion instruments reveals the oriental influences of Ravel’s music in all their splendour. The concert concludes with Maurice Duruflé’s famous Requiem, in the version for chorus and organ. Written in 1947, the Requiem, a work of noble and restrained eloquence, is one of the masterworks of the twentieth-century choral repertoire.

Tickets: £10.00 (£7.00 concessions, £5.00 Anglia Ruskin students/children).


Book your tickets via the Mumford Theatre website