Symphonia Academica

4 May 2018, 13:10
Cambridge campus

Two men and two woman stand side by side, holding string instruments

Peter Bussereau & Marcus Broome (violins)
Ania Ullmann (viola)
Julia Graham (cello)

Following their appointment as Associate Ensemble to Anglia Ruskin University, Symphonia Academica continue their Masterworks series with works by ARU composers alongside one of Beethoven’s opus 18 quartets and Webern’s Langsamer Satz.

Following a series of composer’s workshops the Symphonia Academica is excited to have the opportunity to showcase the talents of ARU’s own composers.

Accompanying these compositions will be works written early in the careers of two composers strongly linked to Vienna. In his quartets of opus 18, Beethoven acknowledged his gratitude to Mozart and Haydn whilst displaying his own distinctive creative powerhouse. Webern wrote his Langsamer Satz whilst studying with Arnold Schoenberg, a work rooted in the romanticism of Vienna at the turn of the 20th century.

This performance is part of our Lunchtime Concert Series.

Event Details

4 May 2018, 13:10
Cambridge campus
Mumford Theatre
Free to attend

No booking necessary - simply turn up, take a seat and enjoy.