Academic careers

Untitled Page

At ARU we make positive change happen in the real world at remarkable pace. In this respect alone, we’re unlike many other institutions. As a vibrant, diverse university with an ambitious mind-set, we’ve proved what’s possible to achieve in a short space of time.


We have five faculties at Anglia Ruskin University, each providing students, industry and the academic community with professionally focused and world-leading courses and research. Visit the faculty web pages to discover more about them: 

Faculty of Arts, Law and Social Sciences
Faculty of Health, Social Care and Education
Faculty of Medical Science
Faculty of Science and Technology
Lord Ashcroft International Business School.

Research Institutes

In the last decade, we’ve forged ahead with our research work. We’ve research-active staff and a growing reputation in this area across six high-profile research institutes. The first of these was our Postgraduate Medical Institute, set up in 2008, which carries out ground-breaking medical research and trains healthcare professionals in a range of sophisticated techniques. The Institute for International Management Practice is dedicated to researching in the fields of enterprise, innovation and internationalisation. The Cultures of the Digital Economy (CoDE) is focussed on exploring the effects of the digital economy on art, culture and society. Our renowned Global Sustainability Institute (GSI) was established in 2011 and focuses on issues surrounding climate change and sustainability and has quickly gained a reputation for its topical, high-impact research and reports. The Veterans and Families Institute is carrying out valuable research into the impact of military experience on veterans and their loved ones. And the Anglia Ruskin IT Research Institute (ARITI) works to enhance IT systems through intelligent modelling and visualisation.

Alongside these six institutes are a range of research units, dedicated to subjects as diverse as music therapy, eye diseases, children’s book studies, and political history.

A range of academic opportunities are available from Researcher to Professor.

Search current job vacancies.