Charities Act 2011

The Charities Acts 1993 and 2006 have been consolidated into the Charities Act 2011, which came into force on 14 March 2012. It contains provisions that apply to exempt charities. Anglia Ruskin University is an exempt charity under the terms of the Charities Act 2011. Under this Act, universities are supervised by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) as principal regulator. HEFCE is charged with ensuring that universities fulfil their obligations under charity law. All principal regulators have to promote compliance by charity trustees with their legal obligations to control and manage the administration of their charity. This means that HEFCE must be able to assess compliance with charity law as part of its usual monitoring processes, using existing forms and reporting mechanisms, adjusted as necessary to include the requirements of charity law. HEFCE must have an existing relationship with its charities and knowledge of the relevant sector.

The following information is provided to meet the requirements of HEFCE:

Charitable Status

Anglia Ruskin University is an independent corporation, established as a Higher Education Corporation under the terms of the Education Reform Act 1988 and the Further and Higher Education Act 1992.

Constitutional documents

Its objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in the Articles of Government which were approved by the Privy Council in April 1989. The current version of the Articles was approved by the Privy Council in April 1995.

Trustees of Anglia Ruskin University

Anglia Ruskin University affairs are managed by two distinct bodies: the Board of Governors and Senate. The Governors are responsible for overseeing the operational aspects of the University and Senate are responsible for academic standards.
Members of the Board of Governors are therefore the Trustees of the University - view the full list of Governors. Where members of the Board or the executive also serve as trustees of other subsidiary, associated or linked charitable entities, details are recorded here:
The Board of Governors is specifically required to determine the educational character and mission of Anglia Ruskin University and to set its general strategic direction. It has a majority of independent members, chosen in line with strict criteria contained in the legislation. It is customary for the Chair of the Board to be elected from the independent members. There is also provision for the appointment of co-opted members, some of whom may be members of the staff of Anglia Ruskin University, and for representatives of the Senate and of the student body. No members of the Board receive any reimbursement for the work which they do for the Board.

Anglia Ruskin University endeavours to conduct its business in accordance with the seven principles identified by the Committee on Standards in Public Life (selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership) and with the guidance to institutions of higher education which has been provided by the Committee of University Chairmen in its 'Guide for Members of Governing Bodies of Universities and Colleges in England, Wales and Northern Ireland'.

Further information about the role and activities of the Board.

Financial Statements

The reports and accounts of exempt charities should clearly set out the voluntary funds they hold and how the charity uses them and the same level of information about exempt charities as is required of registered charities should be made accessible on or via the Charities Commission website.

View Anglia Ruskin University's current financial statements, along with those of previous years. Queries relating to the financial statements should be addressed in the first instance to the Director of Finance.


The legal name and primary address of our University are:

Anglia Ruskin University Higher Education Corporation
Bishop Hall Lane

Preferred name

Anglia Ruskin University

Further information

Anglia Ruskin University operates from two main campuses in Cambridge and Chelmsford and it also has a number of partner colleges. Anglia Ruskin University has four faculties; The Lord Ashcroft International Business School, The Faculty of Health Social Care and Education, The Faculty of Science and Technology and The Faculty of Arts, Law and Social Sciences.

If you would like further information please contact Jackie Barlow, University Records Manager at or on 0845 196 4215. Anglia Ruskin University's website is
Bookmark this page with: